Six apply for judgeship

Freedom Newspapers

Six applications have been received for a judicial vacancy in the 9th Judicial District. Deadline for applications to be received at the Judicial Selection Office was 5 p.m. Friday.

Applicants for the position, created by the resignation of Judge Joe Parker, include Brian P. Brack, Kathleen M. Haynes, Donna J. Mowrer, Kent Peterson, Michelle O. Reeves and Drew D. Tatum.

The District Judicial Nominating Commission will evaluate the applicants at 1 p.m. Aug. 29 at the Roosevelt County Courthouse, 109 W. First St., Portales. The evaluation meeting is open to the public. Those wishing to make public comment should be present at the opening of the meeting.

The eight-person commission is chaired by Suellyn Scarnecchia of the University of New Mexico Law School. Other members include New Mexico Supreme Court Judge Edward L. Chavez, State Appeals Court Judge Cynthia L. Fry, 9th Judicial District Cour Judge Teddy Hartley, Jennifer Burrill of Clovis; Pauline Clark of Portales; Angelina Baca-Rodriquez of Clovis; and John Chavez of Clovis.