County, state candidates file

By Gabriel Monte: CNJ staff writer

Curry County will have contested races for all positions in the 2008 election.

Fourteen candidates signed up Tuesday for the five county offices. Tuesday was also candidate sign-up day for state and federal offices.

Deputy County Clerk Coni Jo Lyman expects a large voter turnout for the general election this year because it includes a presidential race.

“We always see a heavier turnout in a presidential election than during a gubernatorial election,” she said.

There are more than 20,000 eligible voters in Curry County. Voter registration closes 28 days before an election. The primary election is June 3. The general election is Nov. 4.

In 2004, there were 11 candidates when the same county offices were up for election, however, only three positions had Republican and Democratic candidates.

“It’s been a while since we’ve seen so much interest in the offices,” said County Clerk Mario Trujillo, who is not eligible for re-election because of a two-term limit.

However, Trujillo decided to run against incumbent Anna Crook for the District 64 state representative office. A retired educator, Trujillo, 61, served as a city commissioner from 1996 through 2000.

Running for county clerk is Lyman, who is a Republican, and Cindy A. McDaniel, who is running on the Democratic ticket. McDaniel is a purchasing specialist at Clovis Community College.

Three county commissioner seats are up for election.

In District 2, Charles Benny Adams, a retired manager for a high tech chip manufacturer, is running as a Democrat.

Adams, 55, moved to Curry County last year and has not held a public office. He will run against Republican Alan Sumrall, 57, a farmer and rancher.

Incumbent Commissioner Pete Hulder is not eligible for re-election because of term limits.

In District 4, Wells Fargo banker Lisa Dunagan is running against Clovis farmer Seth Martin for the Republican bid. Martin, 35, and Dunagan, 39, have not held public office.

Wendell Bostwick, a rancher, and Gloria Wicker, a retired railroad employee, will run for the seat on the Democratic ticket.

Incumbent Albin Smith decided not to seek re-election.

In District 5, former state senator Caleb Chandler will run against Charles Guthals, a Clovis business owner, for the Republican nomination. Former commissioner Paul D. Barnes is running as a Democrat. Barnes, 64, held the position from 1991 to 2000.

Incumbent Tim Ashley cannot run for re-election because of term limits.

Former District 3 County Commissioner Kathrynn Tate is running for the county treasurer office on the Democratic ticket.

Tate, 59, will run against Deputy Chief Treasurer Bernice Baker, who is running as a Republican.

Baker, 58, has worked for the county for more than 18 years, four of which have been in the treasurer’s office. She ran for treasurer in 2000 and lost to Democrat Linda Hall.

Incumbent Rhonda Bookout did not seek re-election.

The county clerk earns a salary of $49,120 a year, plus benefits, according to County Manager Lance Pyle.

Curry County commissioners earns $19,584 a year, plus benefits, according to Pyle.