Press release: Clovis’ Van Soelen appointed to state commission

Albuquerque, NM (February 25, 2011) – The NM Commission on the Status of

Women is pleased to announce the appointment of the following New Mexico

residents to the Board of Commissioners:

Agnes Maldonado, Chair (Albuquerque)

Justine Fox Young, Vice Chair (Albuquerque)

Dolores (Lori) Kitts (Flora Vista)

Adolfo Alarid (Santa Fe)

Gerald Gallegos (Ojo Caliente)

Jennifer James (Albuquerque)

Erin Van Soelen (Clovis)

Janet Carrejo (Reserve)

Judy Ledford (Carlsbad)

Cynthia Ann West (Ruidoso)

Virginia Robertson (Las Cruces)

Diamantina Storment (Las Cruces)

The Board of Commissioners provides leadership to the Commission in

fulfilling the mandates of the agency. The composition of the Commission

Board is limited to fifteen members, with mo more than 8 members belonging

to any one political party.

The NM Commission on the Status of Women is the only state agency solely

dedicated to improving the lives of women and girls through direct

programming, a clearinghouse of information and referrals, collaborations

with public and private entities, and securing recognition of women’s

accomplishments and contributions to the state.

For more information on the Board of Commissioners or the NM Commission on

the Status of Women, please contact (505) 222-6600 or (800) 432-9168.