WT in, ‘Hounds out of playoffs

West Texas A&M will compete for the NCAA Division II football championship. The Buffs, 9-2, will play at Indianapolis on Saturday.

Lone Star Conference co-champions Eastern New Mexico University and Tarleton State, both with three losses, were not among the 24 teams selected for the playoffs.

None of the playoff teams have lost three games.

The Division II championship is scheduled Dec. 21 in Florence, Ala.

Here is the bracket: