Roosevelt County sample ballot

Offices Affiliation Candidate President and Vice President (All Roosevelt County Residents) • (Democrat) John F. Kerry and John Edwards • (Republican) George W. Bush and Dick Cheney • (Green) David Cobb and Patricia La Marche • (Constitution) Michael Peroutka and Chuck Baldwin • (Libertarian) Michael Badnarik and Richard Campagna • (Independent) Ralph Nader and Peter […]

Republicans eager for first lady’s arrival


Laura Bush will visit Clovis on Wednesday By David Irvin: CNJ staff writer With first lady Laura Bush scheduled to visit Clovis on Wednesday, the local Republicans are ecstatic at the prospect of hearing a top figure in the Bush-Cheney campaign speak at a political rally. Since her visit was announced last week, the Clovis […]

How they voted: Election results

CNJ staff The following represents unnofficial totals based on information obtained from the Secretery of State Web site and the Curry and Roosevelt County courthouses. President of the United States: Republican • (I) George W. Bush — 26,354 votes. United States Representative, District 3: Democrat • (I) Tom Udall — 26,944 votes. Republican • Gregory […]

Primary Ballot

The following local, state and national primary candidates will be on local ballots on June 1, election day. President of the United States George W. Bush, Republican David Cobb, Green Party Paul Glover, Green Kent Mesplay, Green Carol Miller, Green Lorna Salzman, Green United States Representative, District 3 Tom Udall, Democrat Gregory M. Tucker, Republican […]

Hard worker became county sheriff

By Don McAlavy Ernest Garcia always said “I attended the school of hard knocks!” Garcia had only two years of schooling. Born on his grandfather’s ranch at Anton Chico in 1910, Ernest knew nothing but work from daylight to dark. He was one of five bothers with seven sisters. When he thought he had learned […]

County candidates register for re-election

By Jack King Nine people — including incumbents in four races and their challengers — have declared their candidacies for county offices in the June 1 primary election, registration for which is Tuesday. Other candidates still may emerge during the day-long registration period. Registration is from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. in the county clerk’s […]

Friends vie for commission seat

By Michelle Seeber Parmer County voters on Tuesday chose Democrat Michael Haseloff and Republican Ronald Byrd as candidates for the Precinct No. 3 County Commission seat. The two, who said they were “good friends,” are from Farwell. They will run against each other in the Nov. 2 general election. Voters also determined Republican Kirk Frye, […]

Texas residents prepare for primaries

By Michelle Seeber Texas residents will go to the polls Tuesday to vote on more candidates, this time in their primary election. At the local level in Bailey County, contested races for county commissioner exist in Precinct 1 and Precinct 4. Republican Floyd “Butch” Vandiver and Democrat Rodney Baker are up against incumbent Jack Dunham, […]

Presidential big spenders are burden on future

Freedom Newspapers A hundred billion here, a hundred billion there, and pretty soon you’re talking real money, to paraphrase the late Sen. Everett Dirksen. There’s a lot of real money — all of it borrowed on the promise that taxpayers will repay it — in a federal deficit expected to be a record $477 billion […]